Who We Are


“Participation in the Potato Sustainability Initiative is a systematic approach to demonstrate to our customers and consumers that the food we are producing is being done in a sustainable manner.”

-Vernon Campbell  (Mull Na Beinne Farms Ltd, Prince Edward Island, Canada)

PSI is a collaboration of growers, grower organizations, processors, buyers, the National Potato Council, the Canadian Horticultural Council and the IPM Institute of North America working to improve the sustainability of potato production.

More than 500 growers in the US and Canada currently participate along with six processors and two major buyers.

Governance Committee Members


Chad Berry - Under the Hill Farms Ltd.

Vernon Campbell - Mull Na Beinne Farms Ltd.

Andy Diercks - Coloma Farms

Mike Wenkel - National Potato Council

Dan Moss - Moss Farms

Ed Schneider - Schneider Farms

Mike Wind - Windiana Farms Ltd.



Richard Burres (Vice Chair) - Lamb Weston

Sanford Gleddie - The Little Potato Company

John MacQuarrie (Committee Chair) - Cavendish Farms

Robert Pedracini - Heinz/Kraft/Ore-Ida

Eric Ritchie - McCain's

Daniel Robinson - JR Simplot

John Shields - Basic American Foods

Advisory Committee Members

Nora Olsen - University of Idaho

Amanda Raster  - The Sustainability Consortium

Yefang Jiang - Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada

Carl Rosen - University of Minnesota

Participating Buyers

Jeffrey Fitzpatrick-Stilwell - McDonald's

Tammy McElroy - Sysco

IPM Institute Participants

Thomas Green, Ph.D. - Project Facilitator

Leah Reuter - Coordinator

Technical Support

Stephen Ellis - Anthesis Group Team Lead, Scrum Master & Senior Developer